top of page
  • CJ

Left or Right side of the Century? Millennium - The Trusted

Updated: Oct 26, 2022

I was born on the right side of the century. The correct side, however, is often a topic of debate with myself. I have always spent a lot of time contemplating what it would have been like to grow up before the turn of the millennium - preferably in the 1950s or 60s. The fashion, the dance halls, and, of course the music. So many great things came out of those two decades, and in the age of postmodernism we live in, I can’t help but think everything now has all been done before. There seems to be no originality in any aspect of the world. There is not a song that uses different chords, a show without a predictable plot line and the fashion industry are rapidly running out of ideas (in my opinion though there was still no need to bring back the bucket hat). 80s neon was seen back in full force in the 2010s (I remember it well and the photos are proof it should arguably have never have happened), swing dresses are becoming ever more popular and - I’m going to say it - double denim appears to be on the rise again. On reflection, things seemed so much simpler in the 00s. No social media, no smart phones, CD players were still in cars. Looking back, I miss the moment of cradling a CD as I would walk to my mums car, knowing that we would be going on a journey with the artist for the duration of the trip, not flitting randomly between metal and ballads depending on what the app wants us to listen to (not leaving out my favourite track, which I like to call, “lengthy advert vol248”)

All jokes aside, life was so much simpler without influencers filling young peoples heads with, on the whole, unrealistic perceptions of life. Before phones became peoples lives and no longer merely a means of direct communication. Before fame took over all ambitions and online superseded reality. These are the new desirable qualities: it's all about looking a certain way with certain brands and how many subscribers a person has... and qualities such as good manners, kindness, integrity (and old fashioned values... especially in dating) seem to have sadly slipped away.


The Trusted’s new single seems to address all this - and more - in the space of 3 minutes.


As someone who grew up this side of the century, “Millennium” opened the flood gates of memories of simpler times whilst dealing with the pressures of the way society has become today.

Firstly I'd just like to say that - and I say this every time: The Trusted have outdone themselves again. Just as I think they have reached their peak they take it up yet another level. There are so many things I love about this release I genuinely don't know where to start.

I love a powerful bass slide at the beginning of a song - its one of those things that, as a bass player, gets me really excited (its a bassist thing). For me, this really set the tone for the whole song and, from then on, things only kept going up. Sticking with the rhythm section, the consistency of the bass and drums throughout is just what the song needs to essentially 'ground' the lyrics, which appear to be going very Alex Turner in his 'Humbug' phase.

The haunting echo of the vocals - especially when referencing demons along with the guitar octaves - lifts the track up to an almost existential level, accessing the highs and lows of this side of the century.

Something I have always loved about The Trusted is how relatable they are, yet there is always a deeper level to be found within the lyricism.

There are so many ways these lyrics can be interpreted, as always, but, personally, it expresses so many aspects of life that go through my head on a daily basis of living in today's society.

Despite me going on a rant about postmodernism, I have to say, it is refreshing to hear another track from The Trusted that is not 'every other song from every other indie band'. That is something I find The Trusted do really well on the whole, is steering away from 'every other indie song' and being their own band with their own niche.


I'm really looking forward to seeing how they can top this one


27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page